Low Carb Nutella Swirl Cheesecake

IMG_4267

I got upset today, so I ran to the kitchen and a cheesecake was born. “Nutella” and “cheesecake” are my favourite words, other than “boat” and “booties” (They make my mouth parts happy) so I’m surprised it’s taken me so long to come up with this.

I spent half an hour the other day looking online for the best prices for ground hazelnuts (I saw it once in a cookie recipe and couldn’t get the idea out of my head) and then realised you can just buy them in Sainsburys. I don’t normally shop in Sainsburys but I’ll definitely be back. They had flaked coconut too, which you can’t get at Tesco or Asda. That was exciting. I have plans involving coconut.

In weight related news, I found that I lost weight easier than normal this week when I cut out my black coffee. Which has next to no nutritional value, but a lot of caffeine, which apparently can cause stalls in some people? I’ve been having green tea and peppermint tea instead. Saying that, I only lost the same few pounds I’ve been gaining and losing repeatedly for the last 3 months. I doubt making a cheesecake will help with that.

This makes far more fake Nutella than needed for the recipe, so feel free to cut that down. I’m saving it to do something else with, or eat with a spoon at midnight while sobbing and looking at pictures of me when I was thinner.

I used my medium springform pan for this, but I reckon it would spread over a large one fine. The base would be pretty thin though. I only meant to use a 1/4 cup scoop for the cocoa and the sweetener in the base, but I accidentally used the 1/3 cup, so I’ve listed what I actually used, for accuracy’s sake.

Ingredients

Base –

  • 1/2 cup roasted, chopped hazelnuts (or ground)
  • 1/2 cup golden flaxseed
  • 65g butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup sweetener

Topping –

  • 200ml whipping cream
  • One large tub full fat Philadelphia (270g, I think?)
  • Spoonful of full fat Greek yoghurt (Optional – I like the flavour, but it does make the cheesecake a bit sloppier)
  • Vanilla essence
  • 1/3 cup sweetener

“Nutella” –

  • 100g ground hazelnuts
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup sweetener
  • 4 squares (The big squares!) of very dark chocolate, melted
  • Vanilla essence
  • Coconut oil

Recipe

First, make the base; melt the butter in a medium bowl, then mix in the rest of the ingredients. Add extra sweetener, if you need. Press down into the bottom of your springform pan (I line the bottom of mine with baking paper to make it easy to remove later) then shove in the fridge or the freezer while you make the rest.

For the topping, whip the cream with an electric beater until it’s forming stiff peaks, then add everything else and whip some more. It should still be nice and thick. I did several taste tests at this point, just to be extra sure it was perfect. Spoon it on top of your base, and put somewhere cold while you make your Nutella mixture.

I find this easiest in a food processor, but I think it would be possible to stir it all together if you have patience and a strong arm! I put my ground hazelnuts in the food processor with the cocoa, sweetener and melted dark chocolate, and left it mixing while I washed up my bowl. It quite quickly formed a big ball, which was my cue to add my last few ingredients.I put in the vanilla essence, then added coconut oil about a tbsp at a time until the consistency was how I wanted it; smooth but not runny. I think I put in a little extra sweetener too. I often mix two different types of sweetener together to get a nice taste, but everyone has their own preferences here!

At this point, I took the cheesecake out of the fridge, put a generous dollop of the Nutella mixture in the middle of it, and used a spatula to swirl it into the cheesecake topping. As you can see from my picture, I didn’t do an amazing job, and over mixed it a tad in my excitement. I used a smaller spoonful to try and “pretty” the top of the cheesecake up a bit, that helped!At this point, you want to leave it to cool down and set in the fridge. As always, I took it out far earlier than I should, so it was a bit runny; it still tasted great though! I saved the rest of the Nutella mixture in the fridge; I’ll have to think of something else to do with that. I’m sure that will be no great hardship ;o)

Posted on November 17, 2014, in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

