Low Carb Ferrero Rocher

20140827-200425-72265045.jpg

I always get given a box of the regular version of these for Christmas, and oh god I love them so much. Considering they involve a lot of my favourite flavours ever (hello hazelnut!! *squeezes*) I’m surprised it took me this long to make a low carb version of them.

It’s a super simple recipe, it just takes a while because they involve a bit of chilling in between each step. I did it on my day off when I was in and out of the flat doing errands.

I am absolutely torturing myself by writing this recipe down tonight because I’m midway through an egg fast and I’m craving something crunchy really bad. Seriously, I can give myself a good amount of variety with the flavours of my egg meals but I am so, so fed up of eating mushy things. Egg fasting gives you an insane appreciation of texture.

Apologies for the not-so-accurate quantities I’ve listed. I free handed most of it. You’ll get the gist 🙂 It’s easy to make bigger batches, just make more of the Nutella mixture!

If you want to make this recipe including sugar, I’d probably just use actual Nutella instead of making your own mixture. Just leave it in the fridge for a day before hand.

Ingredients

For the Nutella mixture –

– 1/2 cup roasted hazelnuts. I buy pre-roasted ones anyway, but it’s easy enough to roast your own if needed!

– 2-3 tbsp coconut oil

– 2 tbsp cocoa powder

– 4 tbsp sweetener

– (optional) a few drops of vanilla essence and hazelnut flavouring

– (optional) a few squares melted dark chocolate. I didn’t add this in my mixture but I have in other Nutella mixtures before and it really worked.

Everything else –

A handful of whole hazelnuts, roasted

A bar of dark chocolate (Or, you can make your own lower carb version using cocoa powder, sweetener and coconut oil. I’ve never been a huge fan of the taste of that mixture, but a lot of people love it)

A bag of chopped, roasted hazelnuts (Or do your own by roasting them, then shoving them in the food processor for a little bit. Not too much.)

20140827-201054-72654186.jpg

Recipe

I made the Nutella mixture first. Put the hazelnuts in the food processor until they’re as smooth as they’ll go, then add sweetener and cocoa powder and any other flavourings you’re using. I add the coconut oil last and do it slowly – I find the mixture jumps from “chunky” to “liquid” pretty fast. Add any extra sweetener or flavours to taste. If you’re adding some dark chocolate, I’d melt it and add it before the coconut oil. It’ll be runny at room temperature, but will go quite hard in the fridge. That’s where you want to put it.

Let it chill out in the fridge (I should defo do stand up) while you do something else. Let it get solid – you’re going to be shaping it in your hands, so it needs to be properly chilled.

Spoon out chunks with a spoon, then using your hands, mould the mixture around a whole hazelnut, roll into balls, and set aside on a plate. It took longer than I thought it would to do this and mine started to melt a bit, so I put them back in the fridge – my last ones stayed really round but my early ones ended up melting a little. If you’re doing a big batch, I’d probably put my first half in the fridge while I got on with the last half. Once you’re done, put them all in the fridge, and lick your fingers.

Leave them until they feel hard again, then melt your dark chocolate in the microwave in a bowl. I left mine for a little while afterwards to make sure it wasn’t super boiling. Get a plate with your chopped hazelnuts on it ready. I used way, way more chopped hazelnuts than I thought I would here, so don’t be stingy. I kept on having to pour out more and I got chocolate all over the bag.

Take your tasty balls of hazelnut goodness out of the fridge, then roll them in the dark chocolate, then straight in the chopped hazelnuts. It’ll be messy and glorious.

Leave in the fridge to harden again, then eventually it’s time to eat them. It’s worth it. You have the silky smooth mixture of the Nutella against the crunch of the hazelnuts and it’s wonderful 🙂

Posted on August 27, 2014, in Desserts, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

