Low Carb Blueberry and Coconut Cookies

20140622-224520.jpg

I am only letting myself eat my sweet treats at the weekend at the moment. I’m mid way through training for an event in a few months, so I’m having to be stricter than usual because all the working out is making me insanely hungry.

Anyway, today is a Sunday, and I didn’t want to “waste” a treat day making something I’ve made dozens of times before, so I had a root around in the kitchen and decided to use up my blueberries. I only had a small amount left – more a palm sized frozen ball than a handful, if that makes any sense at all. I was really pleased with how they turned out – like most low carb cookies, they don’t really crisp up like a regular biscuit, but they were gooey in the middle and it was marvellous. You can taste both the blueberries and the coconut, which made me happy; berry flavours can be quite overpowering.

Ingredients

– 100g butter
– No more than a handful of frozen blueberries
– 1 egg, beaten
– 1 1/2 cups ground almonds
– 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
– 1/2 cup Splenda
– sprinkle of salt
– sprinkle of baking powder
– dash of vanilla essence

Heat oven to 200 degrees C, and line a baking tray with either foil or baking paper.

Melt the butter in the microwave, then stir everything together in a bowl. Traditionally, you stir berries in right at the end, but I mixed mine with my melted butter so they had a head start defrosting.

Use a spoon and your hands to make 12 flattish mounds of mixture on your baking tray. They’ll rise as they bake.

Bake for around 12 minutes, then leave to cool for at least the same again – they’ll be a bit less crumbly if you wait til they’ve cooled some. And much less likely to burn your face.

Posted on June 22, 2014, in Desserts, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

