Chocolate Hazelnut Cake – In a Minute!

20140622-224239.jpg

I have zero impulse control when it comes to sweet treats (also: fancy cheeses and Kat Dennings). If I make enough chocolate cake to last me a week, I will be lucky if it lasts two days. However much effort I put into making my recipes healthy, I cannot eat that much and walk away with no consequences. I would waddle away. I’d be as fat as butter. You get what I’m saying.

Because of this, I was super excited when I found DJ Foodie’s One Minute Chocolate Muffin. It means I can make myself an appropriate lady sized portion of warm, tasty chocolate cake after my evening meal without the fear of eating enough cake to satisfy an entire Roman orgy.

I have experimented with this recipe loads; there are loads of things you can sub in or out of it to make it your own! This is my favourite.

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 egg
  • dash of vanilla essence
  • dash of olive oil (optional)
  • 2 tbsp almond flour
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1 tbsp chopped hazelnuts
  • 1 tbsp Splenda
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder (I use Green & Blacks Organic Cocoa)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt

Put your butter in a mug, and heat in the microwave til it’s melted. Whisk in your egg and the vanilla essence, then stir in the rest of your ingredients.

Cook on high in the microwave for 1 minute. I sometimes cook just for a bit less, because I love super squishy and moist cakes. I’m not squeamish about my eggs not being cooked properly so that doesn’t bother me, but it’s your call.

Posted on February 16, 2014, in Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

